Mannequin in the Spotlight: Photo-essay *Warning – Nude Mannequin*

DSCN5177

Don’t say I didn’t warn you, it really is a naked mannequin.  They were on sale real cheap at a clothing shop which sadly closed down.  They have coat hanger hooks in their necks and hang up high as a window display, or along the walls, with dresses flowing down off them, normally.  This one was propped up against my art chest, with the sun shining through from the back.  I don’t know why I bought them really, and don’t know what it was about the light shining through that attracted my eye.  I have enjoyed turning the mannequin different colours.  A different sort of ‘colouring in’ which changes the mood of the photo…

DSCN5178

This one is pretty close to normal colour, with the contrast adjusted for deeper black and brighter white.

DSCN5179

A very simple silhouette.  If I turn it sideways, I see mountains and hills.  Perhaps it is simply the beauty of the female form that I am noticing in my cold plastic mannequin…

DSCN5182

Warming up the mannequin with a joyful orange glow.

DSCN5183

Back to black and white… Looks like a black and white person!  That would be so cool.  I reckon patches or zebra stripes would be pretty amazing!

DSCN5184

Fiery…  a living flame within…

 

Sorry mannequin, even flesh tones do not take away the plastic non-human look about you…

DSCN5186

Now that big spot above the tummy really shows up on this one.  It is actually the mannequin’s tummy button.  Yes, they have a tummy button!  It is where the resin was extruded into the molded form.  It just isn’t where a human tummy button is found.

DSCN5187

Red As!

I have plans to cover up my mannequin’s nakedness.  If it turns out well, I will share it in a future post.

 

Share your side of the story...

